





SENT VIA E-MAIL (justin.trudeau@parl.gc.ca)

June 2, 2023

The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada Office of the Prime Minister 80 Wellington Street Ottawa, ON K1A 0A2

Dear Prime Minister,

<u>Re: Community Safety Crisis; Federal Court Emergency Motion Pending:</u> Human Rights Complaint Filed by Indigenous Police Chiefs of Ontario

We are writing to follow up on the correspondence sent by the Indigenous Police Chiefs of Ontario ("IPCO") on May 3, 2023. We are writing on behalf of the leadership of the forty-five communities that are collectively policed by Anishinabek Police Service ("APS"), Treaty Three Police Service ("T3PS"), and UCCM Anishinaabe Police Service ("UCCM").

As outlined in the letter dated May 3, 2023, the funding for the above noted police services expired on March 31, 2023, as a direct result of Public Safety Canada's refusal to negotiate funding agreements that would provide adequate funding to police our communities.

The communities policed by APS, T3PS, and UCCM experience some of the most severe crime rates but due to the discriminatory program model of policing that Public Safety Canada forces them to operate under, do not have access to the funding and resources to respond to these situations effectively.

We are extremely disappointed that we have not received an acknowledgement of our previous letter from you, let alone a response. We are also concerned that Minister of Indigenous Services Patty Hajdu was also copied on our previous correspondence and has been silent. We have repeatedly indicated that there is a high state of anxiety and concern over the safety of our communities. Simply ignoring us will not keep our communities safe.

May we please have a response?







Sincerely,

Jul 76

Chief Lloyd Myke Anishinabek Police Council

Ogichidaa Francis Kavanaugh Grand Council Treaty #3

Chief Patsy Corbiere
Tribal Chair
United Chiefs and Councils of Mnidoo Mnising

CC's LIST OF RECIPIENTS

- cc. Anishinabek Police Service, c/o:
 - Debi Bouchie, Chair, Anishinabek Police Governing Authority;
 - o Travis Boissoneau, Regional Deputy Grand Council Chief, Anishinabek Nation.

Treaty Three Police Service, c/o:

- o Christine Jourdain, President, Treaty Three Police Service Board;
- o Ogichidaa Francis Kavanaugh, Grand Council Treaty #3.

UCCM Anishnaabe Police Service, c/o:

- o Derek Assiniwe, Chair, UCCM Anishnaabe Police Service Commission;
- o Chief Patsy Corbiere, UCCMM Tribal Chair.







IPCO Executive, c/o:

- o President Kai Liu
- o Vice-President Jerel Swamp
- o Secretary-Treasurer Kristine Gagne

Julian Falconer, Falconers LLP Legal Counsel, IPCO

The Hon. Marco Mendicino, Minister of Public Safety Shawn Tupper, Deputy Minister, Public Safety Canada

The Hon. Patty Hajdu, Minister of Indigenous Services Gina Wilson, Deputy Minister, Indigenous Services Canada

Katie Telford, Chief of Staff, Office of the Prime Minister Deliah Bernard, Indigenous Affairs Advisor, Office of the Prime Minister

The Hon. Michael Kerzner, Solicitor General of Ontario Mario Di Tommaso, Deputy Solicitor General of Ontario







ADDITIONAL CC's

Katherine Koostachin, Senior Policy Advisor, Indigenous Affairs, Office of the Prime Minister

Samantha Khalil, Chief of Staff, Office of the Minister of Public Safety Chris Moran, Assistant Deputy Minister – Indigenous Secretariat, Public Safety Canada Connor Moen, Senior Policy Analyst, Public Safety Canada

Katherine Heus, Chief of Staff, Office of the Minister of Indigenous Services Clint Couchie, Director of Regional Affairs, Office of the Minister of Indigenous Services

Richard Stubbings, Assistant Deputy Minister (Public Safety), Ministry of the Solicitor General Alana Jones, Director, First Nations Policing, Ministry of the Solicitor General

Jagmeet Singh, Leader of the New Democratic Party Chris Mockler, Parliamentary Assistant, New Democratic Party

Niki Ashton, Member of Parliament, Churchill-Keewatinook Aski Charlie Angus, Member of Parliament, Timmins-James Bay Carol Hughes, Member of Parliament, Algoma—Manitoulin—Kapuskasing Eric Melillo, Member of Parliament, Kenora Yasir Naqvi, Member of Parliament, Ottawa Centre Terry Sheehan, Member of Parliament, Sault Ste. Marie